networkstaya.blogg.se

Awa comics submissions
Awa comics submissions












  1. #Awa comics submissions pro#
  2. #Awa comics submissions series#

He provides a level of detail he brings to the table that simply puts everything he does head and shoulders above a lot of writers. If you’ve read any of John Lees’ other works, particularly SINK, then you will know that he’s incredibly gifted at character development and world building. This is a story from the pen of John Lees so there are also some suitably disturbing and horrifying moments, which I really wasn’t expecting. The character development is superb, the pacing and narrative are superb, tense, and explosive and shocking and just an absolute bloody joy to read. To that end, this first issue is an absolute rollercoaster, and there is just so much happening that I was practically dizzy by the end of it. It has all the drama, the mystery and intrigue and the betrayals that you could possibly wish for. I found myself right in that scene from the beginning of Highlander with the Fabulous Freebirds when I saw the first fight between Chuck Frenzy and The Abominable Grudd.Īctually, when you think about it, and with the 20/20 hindsight vision I now have about what wrestling is really about, this really is a superb backdrop for a retelling of Macbeth.

#Awa comics submissions series#

The first thing that I have to say about this particular issue is that if there is ever a soundtrack for this series then “Princes of the Universe” by Queen had better be the song linked to the first few pages.

awa comics submissions

When I stopped and looked at it in those terms then wrestling actually became quite fascinating, and I started to appreciate the skill and effort that goes into putting on a match. Wrestling is a story, a drama, played out on a stage not that dissimilar to any theatre you’ve ever been to. That is until this series was announced and I finally took the time to actually listen to someone talking about wrestling with a passion, and explain what the whole thing is really about. I have never given wrestling much of a thought outside of recognising names and faces who have gone on to star in movies, with Rowdy Roddy Piper being my favourite example in They Live, or Andre The Giant in The Princess Bride.

awa comics submissions

The reasoning in my mind when I was a kid was “it’s all fake” and that is where I completely and utterly failed to get the point of the pro-wrestling scene. I remember the likes of Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks from the British scene when I was a kid but the WWF (as it was when I first remember it) never made that much of an impression on me at the time.

#Awa comics submissions pro#

Now in all honesty I could write what I know about pro wrestling on the back of a postage stamp.

awa comics submissions

When you combine that pedigree with the artistic talents of Alex and Ashley Cormack (two of my favourite artists) and the design/lettering skills of Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (one of my favourite letterers), you have a team that absolutely cannot fail to produce a masterpiece. John is, as you’re probably aware, one of my favourite writers, and has produced some of my favourite thriller/horror comics of all time. The Crimson Cage is John Lees’ interpretation of Macbeth told on the stage of Southern Pro-Wrestling, and I can honestly say that I have never, ever been excited about reading a comic about wrestling before until today. Chuck wants more though, and a chance encounter with three strange and terrifying creatures in the Bayou offers him all the titles, fame and fortune that he desires… but at a terrible price.

awa comics submissions

Chuck Frenzy is the main attraction of the Louisiana pro wrestling circuit.














Awa comics submissions